I Am D-Sew

Peace! What is your name and how did you get it?

My name is D-Sew. It is a short abbreviation for my birth name.
For those that have never heard who you are how would you describe what you do?
Well, I would describe me as an all round music connoisseur with a love for Hip Hop, that produces music, write bars and raps, write songs and sings and enjoys travelling to different places and performing. In brief, I started constructing melodies, writing poems and singing to songs at 15 years old. I was passionate about producing and built my first studio at 22. I learnt a lot along my journey from various mentors. I now go full circle when it comes to music making.
What are you currently working on?
Right now, I have been working continuously throughout this year into early next year on my debut album release titled Storyboard. Production from myself including various other talented producers, and a few guest rappers. Alongside my LP project, I am working on an international EP with DJ Veekash who is based in Paris who produces and has worked alongside various international artists.
What do you enjoy the most about rapping?
What I really enjoy about rapping is that I can change the way I flow and the dynamics to fit in with the melody. Being able to produce helps me to express my writing in a different form as opposed to poetry and I enjoy being able to change the delivery of rap to the way that I like. I enjoy writing freely, and switching it up occasionally from a 16 bar rap to a singing hook.What makes a complete rapper?

What I think makes a complete rapper is to know the knowledge of Hip Hop and have a complete understanding in terms of knowing the source of its derivation in New York. Hip Hop started in The Bronx where DJ’s played breakbeat’s at house parties and held park jams, the genre then transcending to become a global mainstream sound around the world. A rapper should automatically study the pioneers of its prime time, with attention to the detail and the use of clever word play and using metaphors to sound competitive and intricate.
 
What would you say is your greatest to date?
My greatest achievement was this year when I performed at the Mauritian Open Air Festival in August 2014 at Tottenham Hale, London. I performed with Itch Fm’s DJ Shorty on a stage of established pioneering singers from the Island in front of a huge crowd!
What kind of rappers and producers do you like to build with?
So far, I have been truly grateful to work with a variety of talented producers in Hip Hop scene. DJ Woool (Raw Trade Beatz) who I heavily worked with on my last project. My current projects have included DJ Veekash, Chairman Maf and Morfius. I have recently finished producing a track titled Young Queens & Young Kings featuring Raggo Zulu Rebel, Cyclonious, TB, Jai, Mentalist, Imagery and Herbal T which is my second official single release taken from the forthcoming debut album Storyboard releasing early 2015.

How do you feel about hip hop today?

My thoughts on the current state of Hip Hop today is very positive. I like what J Cole is bringing to the table in terms of lyrical expression based on the current state of affairs in the US. I’m listening to D’Angelo’s latest release at this moment in time, engaged in his expressions on the times. I am listening to artists that are pushing a message out there for the people who can relate to it. I recently heard something from Lauren Hill which blew me away both lyrically and emotionally. Hip Hop right now is focusing on the current state of affairs especially based on a sociological level. I think it is much-needed at this time and it will see more artists prevailing on the importance of speaking out these problems.

What do you think about titles such as UK hip hop? shouldnt it just be hip hop?

Hip Hop should just be Hip Hop. It shouldn’t hold any relevance to any part of where you live in the world. Hip Hop is good when the music is good. The beats are raw and bangs, the rapper uses clever word play to engage the listener, the flow is unique yet has shape and delivers well, and the content is in relevance to the subject and it engages the person listening.

Do you feel that the culture is being represented right at the moment by dj’s and various platforms?

Yes, I actually do feel that DJ’s and mediums out there are representing the culture correctly. I have heard about a lot of great events and music nights locally and in other parts of the world that represent the culture with the respect it deserves. If you are in the right sort of network group, you will hear about the latest events in the community. DJ’s / promoters create their own events to represent Hip Hop in a positive form I feel. It is down to the individual to choose to go to these events or not.

What would you say it is that you contribute to the hip hop spectrum?

Just me and my experiences about life and raising awareness of problems in society. I’m always helping to push a positive message in my music for the youth and older generation. I also support my friends that hold their own events and represent the community to help bring some unity.
What is next from D-Sew?
My debut album titled Storyboard. Being active in community works and music production for other people’s projects.
Is there anything else you would like to share or shout any one out?
Peace and love to each and everyone who knows me and has been supporting me and believing in my music. Thank you to my family and friends. Love

Music links:
Website – www.dsew.co.uk

 

Leave a Reply

