Straight Outta Compton Movie

Ok, so I missed the first day showing of this movie in the cinema and wasnt really bothered. Chilling in my house baby sitting my daughter and my brother sends me a link to watch the full movie on YouTube (im actually watching it now while im writing this review). I’m sorry Cube and Dre etc but hey, every one loves a bit of freeness. Any way, I think the movie is dope!  I grew up on so many rappers and N.W.A was a big part of that bunch. So to see what is displayed on the silver screen to me was thrilling. Every actor who displayed each character did an amazing job but two actors in my eyes stole the show, O’shea Jackson, Jr who plays Ice Cube, Jason Mitchell as Eazy-E and Paul Giamatti as N.W.A’s manager Jerry Heller. O’shea looks like his father and displays so many characteristics that i grew up witnessing throughout Cubes reign. The same goes for Jason, at times watching the movie i thought to my self was he related to Easy-E because of how well he brought Easy’s spirit to the screen. I’m all about reality no matter what formula it comes in and this movie depicts the groups rawness nicely. Its raw, it’s up front, its uncompromising. The movie moves through its timeline smoothly showing N.W.A’s inception, their Power, their influence and their demise. I’m also hearing a sequel is in the works. that is something id like to see. Good work guys. I think this movie was right on time.

 

Leave a Reply

