I go by the name of Conscious

avatars-000069038264-2a62h9-t500x500
Peace, what is your name and how did you get it?
I go by the name of Conscious.  The idea of my name is to show people that hip hop can be poetically and socially aware, and not focused on the negatives that come up in mainstream rap.

Describe your self in three words.

Creative, soulful, patient.

What are you working on right now?

Aside from Hip hop, I am a published poet. A large amount of my creative energy is being poured into written word rather than spoken.
What influences what you do?
My influences include literary figures such as Ernest Hemingway, and Natasha Tretheway, as well as musicians like Nas, Talib Kweli, Lupe Fiasco, Gangstarr and J.cole.  In addition, my family and the state of the world around me.

What do you enjoy the most about rapping?

I enjoy the process of writing more than the physical spitting.  Fitting words together in a way that has meaning, and sounds cool is what I am passionate about.

What motivates you?

I am most motivated by the state of the world.  I hope that through art it can be improved. I believe that hip hop can be a universal language.

What would you say your greatest achievement is so far?

Musically, it would have to be getting a track on Pandora.

Whats your thoughts on the current state of hip hop today?

Mainstream hip hop is a joke.  Aside from a select few, lyricism and the original purpose of hip hop is dead.  However, the underground keeps hip hop alive.  There are so many talented artists who most people have never even heard of.

What would you say that you as a member of this hip hop society bring to the table?

I bring elements of storytelling, lyricism and literature that make me unique.

What can we expect next from you?

Should be an EP coming soon.  Stay tuned.

Is there any thing else you would like to say or shout any one out?


Shoutouts to Hellhound Music Group, The Dead Poets, My manager and EDM producer @drvcvla (on twitter) My family and friends, and Norwich, CT.  Much love.
Twitter.com/conscious8

 

Leave a Reply

