Benji Kingdom Child NYC – Interview

Peace! What is your name and it’s meaning. How did you get it?

My full name is Benjamin. BENJI is a nickname that I’ve been called since the 6th grade. KINGDOM CHILD represents being a child of God and knowing that my eternal home is in heaven. It also is inspired from Matthew 18:2-4 in The Holy Bible where Jesus says, “Whoever humbles himself like a child is the greatest in the Kingdom of Heaven.”

Describe your self in five words?

 
Lyrical Activist, Conscious, Authentic, Humble, Awake. I think that’s 6 Ha!

What influences what you do?
I get influenced by my personal experiences as well as the personal experiences of those around me. Just living day-to-day and going through the ups and downs on this roller coaster ride called life.

What do you enjoy the most about rapping?
I enjoy the whole process of making music. Staying up late nights searching for beats and writing lyrics, thinking how you expect each line to touch and affect people in a different way, going to the studio and recording the song that you stood up all night to write, then finally releasing the song and sharing it and seeing how people react to it. That feeling is priceless.

What motivates you?
This is the only thing in life that I ever wanted to do, Making a living by sharing my story through music. Knowing that I have been blessed by God with a talent to share my story in the form of rhyming makes me not take this gift for granted. It motivates me to continue grinding and giving this all that I have.

What would you say your greatest achievement is so far?
I would have to say getting married on September 5th 2014 & giving my life to Christ on April 4th 2014. I have a whole new outlook on life. Spiritually and musically I’ve just been in a whole different mind frame. My goal is to use my music to share with the world what God has done for me and to uplift my generation with positive music that they cannot only understand but also vibe to.

What influenced you to do the Stay Freestyle?

Giving my life to Christ changed my views and the way I see the world. It gave me a new perspective on life and I tried my best to showcase that in The Stay Freestyle.

Whats your thoughts on the current state of hip hop today?

I stopped listening to mainstream music about 2 years ago. What you have today is a bunch of carbon copy rappers who are portraying a lifestyle in their raps that is the opposite of who they really are. They are influenced by what they see and hear their favorite artist say and do. When Hip-hop was originally started it represented the people. Artists talked about social issues, political issues, people weren’t really cursing in their raps and women weren’t getting disrespected. Now what we have today in music is degradation and the demoralization of our culture. Artist are being paid money to exploit their own kind. There is a big difference between rapping and making songs about the everyday struggle that goes on in the ghetto vs. glorifying murder and selling drugs.

What would you say that you as a member of this hip hop society bring to the table?

I bring realism to the game. I bring a conscious awareness to what is plaguing us in society as a people internally and externally and what we must do to overcome the traps and obstacles that are being placed in front of us everyday. I’m only interested in working and collaborating with anybody that’s interested in uplifting the people with positive messages & positive music.

What can we expect next from you?
More music, You can stay up to date with me at Kingdomchildnyc.com and follow me on Twitter and Instagram @Kingdomchildnyc and on FB at Facebook.com/kingdomchildnyc.

Is there any thing else you would like to say or shout any one 

Shout out to everybody in Brooklyn and everybody worldwide grinding and working towards getting out of the struggle. Shout out to all the positive MC’s out there that’s using their God-given gift of rhyming to educate and uplift the people. Shout out to my brother Cyclonious for looking out and plugging me with the interview. Peace and love!
One thought on “Benji Kingdom Child NYC – Interview

Leave a Reply

